Northern Japan

The Tōhoku region of northern Japan is made up of six prefectures; Aomori, Akita, Irate, Yamagata, Miyagi and Fukushima. Tōhoku has a reputation of being a remote, scenic region with a harsh climate. The area is comparatively sparsely populated, but just as rich with culture and abundant in natural beauty.

Here is a small selection of an on-going personal project, ‘Tōhoku’ featuring photographs of north-eastern Japan.